Here We Are: Feminism for the Real World

By Kelly Jensen (Ed.)

Source: Purchased

Series: n/a

Publication Date: January 24, 2017

Published by Algonquin BFYR

My Rating: five-stars

Here We Are: Feminism for the Real World

Cover image and synopsis from Goodreads:

Let’s get the feminist party started!

Here We Are is a scrapbook-style teen guide to understanding what it really means to be a feminist. It’s packed with essays, lists, poems, comics, and illustrations from a diverse range of voices, including TV, film, and pop-culture celebrities and public figures such as ballet dancer Michaela DePrince and her sister Mia, politician Wendy Davis, as well as popular YA authors like Nova Ren Suma, Malinda Lo, Brandy Colbert, Courtney Summers, and many more. Altogether, the book features more than forty-four pieces, with an eight-page insert of full-color illustrations.

Here We Are is a response to lively discussions about the true meaning of feminism on social media and across popular culture and is an invitation to one of the most important, life-changing, and exciting parties around.

I follow Kelly Jensen on social media and have read her work at Stacked, and more recently Book Riot. So I feel like I’ve known about this book for a while, and have been eagerly anticipating it!

I took my time reading this book. It was interesting, thought-provoking, educational, intersectional, and something that I’m so happy exists. I also loved the look of the physical book.

The book is split into several parts: Starting the Journey; Body and Mind; Gender, Sex, and Sexuality; Culture and Pop Culture; Relationships; Confidence and Ambition; and Go Your Own Way. I found so much to think about and enjoy in each section, and even though I think it’s written for a teen audience, don’t let that hold you back from picking up a copy and reading! This would have been super eye-opening for me as a teenager, but I think there’s something for everyone in this collection, including adults.

Definitely recommended!

Good As Gone

By Amy Gentry

Source: Purchased

Series: n/a

Publication Date: July 26, 2016

Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

My Rating: three-half-stars

Good As Gone

Cover image and synopsis from Goodreads:

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic—but Anna, Julie’s mother, has whispers of doubts.  She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.

Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages.

I’ve really been on a mystery kick lately! This is a book I started one night when I felt like getting into another good mystery, and I finished the next day.

Like many of the books I’ve read lately, I thought this was good but not great. I liked the way the story jumped between Anna and Julie’s stories, and the way it kept me unsure about what the truth was, but I didn’t find it particularly mysterious or surprising in the end.

Recommended, but I might need to step back from mysteries for a while so that the next time I pick one up, it feels fresh.

Week In Review

February 20 – March 5

Good morning! What a whirlwind couple of weeks it’s been! I didn’t post last Sunday because I was in Toronto for the weekend, attending the HCC Frenzy Spring Preview, which was so fun. Friends + roadtrip + music + books = great weekend. Read on to see some pictures of the books I received.

I also saw a free preview screening of Before I Fall, based on the Lauren Oliver book that I read and loved years ago, with my friend Kathy. The movie was good, and I thought Zoey Deutch, who played the lead, was fantastic.

Last night I went to an NHL hockey game in a box seat, courtesy of my BFF, and had a great time! I don’t know if I can go back to sitting in regular seats…;)

Oh yeah, and somewhere in between all of that, I was offered a new job and accepted! So there will be a big change in the next couple of weeks as I prepare to leave my current job, and start a new one, so I’m a mix of emotions: sad, nervous, excited, etc.

SO MANY BOOKS.

 

via GIPHY

First, let me start with the Edelweiss e-ARCs from the past two weeks:

First We Were IV, Alexandra Sirowy;

Made for Love, Alissa Nutting; and

I See London, I See France, Sarah Mlynowski.

I also had a ton of library books come in – and now I’m afraid I won’t be able to read all of them before they’re due back!

You Don’t Know My Name, Kristen Orlando;

The Last Harvest, Kim Liggett;

Dead Letters, Caite Dolan-Leach;

Mr. Peanut, Adam Ross;

Feminism: Reinventing the F Word, Nadia Abushanab Higgins; and

The Secret Loves of Geek Girls, Hope Nicholson (Ed.).

And last weekend, it was time to attend HCC Frenzy’s Spring Preview in Toronto! I was so excited to be invited, and while I’ve attended their fall/winter previews, this was their first spring preview, so it was even more exciting. And there was a very big turnout! I loved getting to chat with the Toronto bloggers, and of course hearing about the upcoming YA titles from HarperCollins Canada.

BOOKS!

WIth my friend Meaghan, who took this picture.

Outfit coordination with my friend Ciara.

I was really excited to find some great books in my gift bag:

Ramona Blue, Julie Murphy;

The Sandcastle Empire, Kayla Olson;

Romancing the Throne, Nadine Jolie Courtney; and

The Black Witch, Laurie Forest.

I also snagged a copy of Midnight at the Electric by Jody Lynn Anderson.

Thank you so much to the team at HCC Frenzy for a great afternoon, and for adding a ton of books to my TBR! 🙂

I also received an ARC in the mail of one of my most-anticipated books of the year from Raincoast Books:

I Believe in a Thing Called Love, by Maurene Goo. I totally squealed when I opened the package! I loved her previous book, and I cannot wait to read this one! It sounds so so so good! Thank you Raincoast!

I also received some surprise book mail from PGC Books this week:

City of Friends, by Joanna Trollope. Thank you!

I don’t think I finished any books these last couple of weeks. I’ve been busier than usual, and have also been unable to tear myself away from news channels. But I’m going to make more time for reading this week, because I’m in the middle of a couple of great books!

I did have a few reviews posted these past couple of weeks:

In Your Room, Jordanna Fraiberg;

Behind Her Eyes, Sarah Pinborough;

Wonder, R.J. Palacio; and

Miss Mayhem, Rachel Hawkins.

Time for some more coffee, a big walk in the sunshine, and then some reading before The Walking Dead is on tonight! Happy Sunday!

Miss Mayhem

By Rachel Hawkins

Source: Purchased

Series: Rebel Belle #2

Publication Date: April 7, 2015

Published by Putnam Juvenile

My Rating: three-stars

Miss Mayhem

Cover image and synopsis from Goodreads:

Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and her best friend, Bee, has returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can focus on the important things in life: school, canoodling with David (her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie), and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant.

Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him. The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an ancient trial that will either kill her . . . or make her more powerful than ever.

I loved Rebel Belle, and I started reading this sequel almost as soon as I finished Rebel Belle.

Unlike Rebel Belle, I found this book to be slower – or at least it took em longer to finish reading. I found myself really frustrated with the vents in this book and with people keeping secrets from each other, which just led to more trouble.

Even though things happened in Miss Mayhem, it felt like nothing much was going on. I thought Rebel Belle was so great, and this book felt like a step down. I hope the next – and last – book in this series is better. I love this world and characters, so I’m hoping for a great finish to the trilogy.

Wonder

By R.J. Palacio

Source: Purchased

Series: Wonder #1

Publication Date: February 14, 2012

Published by Knopf

My Rating: four-stars

Wonder

Cover image and synopsis from Goodreads:

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels.

This was the most recent pick for the Sisterhood of the Travelling Book Club, and this is a book that had been on my TBR for years. I’m so glad I finally got around to reading it!

Wonder was a great book, and a very quick read. I read the whole thing in one day, and was immediately pulled into Auggie’s world. I also really enjoyed that the story changed perspectives so that I got to know other characters better. I wasn’t expecting that and I really enjoyed it.

This was a really great book, one that I think I would have loved when I was younger. There is a movie adaptation coming out later this year, and I am definitely going to have to see it.