Dark Metropolis

By Jaclyn Dolamore

Source: Purchased

Series: Dark Metropolis #1

Publication Date: June 17, 2014

Published by Disney-Hyperion

My Rating: three-stars

Dark Metropolis

Cover image and summary from Goodreads:

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder’s mother is cursed with a spell that’s driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city’s secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they’re not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don’t always seem to stay that way.

I was really excited to read this book because of its premise. Anything about dead coming back to life will definitely catch my attention.

I started reading this book but ended up putting it down for days, and didn’t really feel compelled to pick it back up. That’s not a good sign, in my reading experience.

When I did pick the book back up to keep reading, I was more interested in the story than I had been, but the only character who really grabbed my attention was Nan. Any time the story changed focus to another character, I found myself wishing it would switch back to Nan and her situation.

I liked the historical setting and the writing, but the story and many of its characters were missing something to pull me in and make me really care more. I think I was wanting to learn more about the magic in the story, and it didn’t turn out to be quite the story featuring the undead that I expected. I had a lot of unanswered questions, by the end of the book.

However, I think this is the first in a series, and I liked this book enough that I do think that I will check out the sequel down the road.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.