I Remember You: A Ghost Story

By Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

Source: Purchased

Series: n/a

Publication Date: March 25, 2014

Published by Minotaur Books

My Rating: three-half-stars

I Remember You: A Ghost Story

Cover image and summary from Goodreads:

In this terrifying tale, three friends set to work renovating a rundown house in a remote, totally isolated location. But they soon realize they are not as alone as they thought. Something wants them to leave. Meanwhile, in a nearby town, a young doctor investigating the suicide of an elderly woman discovers that she was obsessed with his vanished son. When the two stories collide, the shocking truth becomes horribly clear.

In the vein of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist, this horrifying thriller, partly based on a true story, is the scariest novel yet from Yrsa Sigurdardóttir, who has captivated the attention of readers around the world with her mystery series featuring attorney Thora Gudmundsdottir. Now, Yrsa will stun readers once again with this out-of-this-world ghost story that will leave you shivering.

This is another book that I’d heard a lot about before I picked it up. I had really high expectations – perhaps too high – for a scary read!

I love reading paranormal and supernatural stories, especially ghost stories. So I really wanted this to be as spooky as I’d heard it was. Trust me, there are some tense moments, but I didn’t find the book particularly scary, especially compared with others I’ve read.

I did enjoy the the two seemingly separate stories, and the way that one chapter would end in a little cliffhanger and then the next chapter would pick up where the ‘other’ story left off – but it too would sometimes end in a little cliffhanger, leaving me on the edge of my seat as I read!

I eventually put the pieces together to connect the two stories – I think the author left enough hints along the way – and I was really interested to know how it would all end.

Unfortunately, the ending disappointed me and left me with some unanswered questions, which was frustrating.

Overall, I enjoyed most of the book: it’s an interesting story with a good mystery, a ghost story with tension and some creepy moments, and a structure that had me hooked – but the ending was a let-down. Recommended, despite my feelings about the ending.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.