Liars, Inc.

By Paula Stokes

Source: Received from the publisher via Edelweiss

Series: n/a

Received from the publisher via Edelweiss, for free, for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Publication Date: March 24, 2015

Published by HarperTeen

My Rating: three-half-stars

Liars, Inc.

Cover image and summary from Goodreads:

For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV’s How to Get Away with Murder.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called “Captivating to the very end,” Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.

This is my first time reading a Paula Stokes book, but I’ve heard excellent things about the Venom series (written as Fiona Paul) and The Art of Lainey. Knowing that some trusted blogging friends loved her books, I was eager to read this one.

Right away, I liked Max and the narration. I feel like I don’t often read a male narrator’s POV, so that was fun. I liked that he and his girlfriend, Parvati, and Max’s best friend, Preston, were, while not totally outcasts, somewhat on the fringes of the social life at their school.

The mystery behind Preston’s death disappearance and death was so intriguing. The truth was not a huge surprise – I think enough clues were scattered throughout the story to let the reader put the pieces together – but it was one of those resolutions that was so fun to  read as it all unfolded.

I liked the writing and the humour in Liars, Inc. a lot. Paula Stokes is a pretty terrific writer and now I definitely want to go back and read her other books. Definitely recommended!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.