Romancing the Throne

By Nadine Jolie Courtney

Source: Received from the publisher

Series: n/a

Received from the publisher, for free, for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Publication Date: May 30, 2017

Published by Katherine Tegen Books

My Rating: four-stars

Romancing the Throne

Cover image and summary from Goodreads:

Scandal, secrets, and heartbreak abound in this juicy, modern girl-meets-prince story—perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jennifer E. Smith.

For the first time ever, the Weston sisters are at the same boarding school. After an administration scandal at Libby’s all-girls school threatens her chances at a top university, she decides to join Charlotte at posh and picturesque Sussex Park. Social-climbing Charlotte considers it her sisterly duty to bring Libby into her circle: Britain’s young elites, glamorous teens who vacation in Hong Kong and the South of France and are just as comfortable at a polo match as they are at a party.

It’s a social circle that just so happens to include handsome seventeen-year-old Prince Edward, heir to Britain’s throne.

If there are any rules of sisterhood, “Don’t fall for the same guy” should be one of them. But sometimes chemistry—even love—grows where you least expect it. In the end, there may be a price to pay for romancing the throne…and more than one path to happily ever after.

I was so excited to read this book. It sounded so cute and fun!

I read The Royal We earlier this year, and really enjoyed it. Romancing the Throne reminded me of that book in some ways, so I think if you like royals and romance, both of these books should be on your list.

Once I started reading, I didn’t want to put this book down! It had two of my favourite things to read about: boarding school, and a sister relationship. It also had cute romance, relationship drama, and a glimpse into the life of the wealthy and the royal.

I will admit, Charlotte drove me a little nuts at times with her behaviour, but I also sympathized with her when things didn’t seem to be going her way. And as a bookish introvert, I identified more with Libby than with the bold, outgoing Charlotte.

I also liked that Charlotte was into graphic design and coding and talked about building her own app. It isn’t something I’ve seen in a lot of books I’ve read, and I thought it was really interesting. And I liked that it was something of Charlotte’s, not a passion or interest derived from or shared with her sister or her friends.

Romancing the Throne was such a fun book! Recommended!

Pick up your own copy:

Chapters-Indigo

Amazon

The Book Depository

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.