A Conjuring of Light

By Victoria Schwab (as V.E. Schwab)

Source: Purchased

Series: Shades of Magic #3

Publication Date: February 21, 2017

Published by Tor Books

My Rating: five-stars

A Conjuring of Light

Cover image and synopsis from Goodreads:

Witness the fate of beloved heroes – and enemies.

THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED…
The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.

WHO WILL CRUMBLE?
Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?

WHO WILL RISE?
Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never common – thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.

WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?
And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay.

This is one of my favourite series! (You can read my reviews of books one and two: A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows) I was super super super excited to read this book, especially when I saw that it was over 600 pages. I didn’t want this series to be over!

I love these characters and the world(s) that Victoria Schwab has created. Her writing is so fantastic, and it was so great to lose myself in this story. I had no idea where things were going to go or what was going to happen or how things were going to end, and I just loved that. The story took twists and turns that kept me on my toes, and I was really worried that some of my beloved characters were not going to survive this book.

I am so sad that this series is over, but I’m hopeful that Victoria Schwab might write more about these characters in the future. There are so many stories to be told still!!

This is a five-star must-read series.

Queens of Geek

By Jen Wilde

Source: Received from the publisher

Series: n/a

Received from the publisher, for free, for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Publication Date: March 14, 2017

Published by Swoon Reads

My Rating: four-stars

Queens of Geek

Cover image and summary from Goodreads:

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Jason Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

Queens of Geek was such a fun read! It takes place at a con, and I loved its celebration of fandom and embracing your geekiness. What really stood out for me was Taylor’s anxiety – there was so much that I related to.

This book has two cute romances, great friendships, pop culture references, and is really fun and funny. Recommended!

Week In Review

March 6 – 12

Happy Sunday! I feel like this weekend flew by, even though I’ve been feeling a little sick and didn’t actually do anything. I blame it on Daylight Saving Time.

It’s been a pretty quiet book week. I haven’t actually done much reading, which is terrible since I have about a thousand library books out right now and I really need to start some of those!

I did manage to finish two books, though: an ARC of Maurene Goo’s I Believe In a Thing Called Love (so good!) and V.E. Schwab’s A Conjuring of Light (OMGGGGGG).

I’m about halfway through Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leache, one of my library books. I’m hoping to finish it today.

I also posted a couple reviews this week:

Good as Gone, Amy Gentry;

Here We Are: Feminism for the Real World, Kelly Jensen (Ed.)

Time for more coffee and my book. Happy reading!

Here We Are: Feminism for the Real World

By Kelly Jensen (Ed.)

Source: Purchased

Series: n/a

Publication Date: January 24, 2017

Published by Algonquin BFYR

My Rating: five-stars

Here We Are: Feminism for the Real World

Cover image and synopsis from Goodreads:

Let’s get the feminist party started!

Here We Are is a scrapbook-style teen guide to understanding what it really means to be a feminist. It’s packed with essays, lists, poems, comics, and illustrations from a diverse range of voices, including TV, film, and pop-culture celebrities and public figures such as ballet dancer Michaela DePrince and her sister Mia, politician Wendy Davis, as well as popular YA authors like Nova Ren Suma, Malinda Lo, Brandy Colbert, Courtney Summers, and many more. Altogether, the book features more than forty-four pieces, with an eight-page insert of full-color illustrations.

Here We Are is a response to lively discussions about the true meaning of feminism on social media and across popular culture and is an invitation to one of the most important, life-changing, and exciting parties around.

I follow Kelly Jensen on social media and have read her work at Stacked, and more recently Book Riot. So I feel like I’ve known about this book for a while, and have been eagerly anticipating it!

I took my time reading this book. It was interesting, thought-provoking, educational, intersectional, and something that I’m so happy exists. I also loved the look of the physical book.

The book is split into several parts: Starting the Journey; Body and Mind; Gender, Sex, and Sexuality; Culture and Pop Culture; Relationships; Confidence and Ambition; and Go Your Own Way. I found so much to think about and enjoy in each section, and even though I think it’s written for a teen audience, don’t let that hold you back from picking up a copy and reading! This would have been super eye-opening for me as a teenager, but I think there’s something for everyone in this collection, including adults.

Definitely recommended!

Good As Gone

By Amy Gentry

Source: Purchased

Series: n/a

Publication Date: July 26, 2016

Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

My Rating: three-half-stars

Good As Gone

Cover image and synopsis from Goodreads:

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic—but Anna, Julie’s mother, has whispers of doubts.  She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.

Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages.

I’ve really been on a mystery kick lately! This is a book I started one night when I felt like getting into another good mystery, and I finished the next day.

Like many of the books I’ve read lately, I thought this was good but not great. I liked the way the story jumped between Anna and Julie’s stories, and the way it kept me unsure about what the truth was, but I didn’t find it particularly mysterious or surprising in the end.

Recommended, but I might need to step back from mysteries for a while so that the next time I pick one up, it feels fresh.