Just One Reader's Opinion!

Assistant To The Villain

Assistant To The VillainAssistant To The Villain By Hannah Nicole Maehrer

Series: Assistant To The Villain #1

Source Purchased

Published by Entangled Publishing on August 29, 2023

Rating: three-stars

Once Upon a Time meets The Office in Hannah Maehrer’s laugh-out-loud viral TikTok series turned novel, about the sunshine assistant to an Evil Villain…and their unexpected romance.

ASSISTANT WANTED: Notorious, high-ranking villain seeks loyal, levelheaded assistant for unspecified office duties, supporting staff for random mayhem, terror, and other Dark Things In General. Discretion a must. Excellent benefits.

With ailing family to support, Evie Sage's employment status isn't just important, it's vital. So when a mishap with Rennedawn’s most infamous Villain results in a job offer—naturally, she says yes. No job is perfect, of course, but even less so when you develop a teeny crush on your terrifying, temperamental, and undeniably hot boss. Don’t find evil so attractive, Evie.

But just when she’s getting used to severed heads suspended from the ceiling and the odd squish of an errant eyeball beneath her heel, Evie suspects this dungeon has a huge rat…and not just the literal kind. Because something rotten is growing in the kingdom of Rennedawn, and someone wants to take the Villain—and his entire nefarious empire—out.

Now Evie must not only resist drooling over her boss but also figure out exactly who is sabotaging his work…and ensure he makes them pay.

After all, a good job is hard to find.

Something about this premise called out to me. I loved the idea of a villain story in the vein of ‘The Office’, and I was intrigued by the romance hinted at in the synopsis.

In execution, this was not as fun as I’d hoped. It felt very juvenile to me, and the humour didn’t land. The romance also felt pretty non-existent. I am confused about this being described as a romance or romantasy, because I just didn’t get major romance vibes. Also, this ended on a pretty big cliffhanger, which I didn’t love.

And yet, despite all of the above, I could not DNF. Despite my semi-disinterest, I wanted to finish reading. It was kind of a comforting book to read and it didn’t challenge my brain. It was good for the nights I wanted to read something easy before bed.

Will I check out the sequel? Possibly, but I would borrow from the library rather than purchase a copy this time around.

three-stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Follow Me!

  • Subscribe to the blog!

    Enter your e-mail address:

    Powered by FeedPress

    Recent Posts

  • 2024 Reading Challenge

    2024 Reading Challenge

    2024 Reading Challenge
    Kimmy has
    read 0 books toward
    her goal of
    125 books.
    hide

  • Categories

  • Verified by MonsterInsights