Week In Review

November 16 – 22

Hello! What a week it’s been. My husband and I started watching the new Marvel Netflix series Jessica Jones on Friday night and it’s amazing!! We’re halfway through and it’s so great. So I’ve been reading less than I planned to this weekend, but I have no regrets!

As far as books go, it’s been a great few days for me, thanks to Edelweiss and great publishers! I’m very happy to have received the following via Edelweiss (cover images and summaries from Goodreads):

Gena/Finn, by Hannah Moskowitz:

Gena/FinnThe story follows the unlikely friendship of two young women forged via fan fiction and message boards, and is told entirely in texts, chats, and blog posts.

Gena (short for Genevieve) and Finn (short for Stephanie) have little in common. Book-smart Gena is preparing to leave her posh boarding school for college; down-to-earth Finn is a twenty-something struggling to make ends meet in the big city. Gena’s romantic life is a series of reluctant one-night-stands; Finn is making a go of it with long-term boyfriend Charlie. But they share a passion for Up Below, a buddy cop TV show with a cult fan following. Gena is a darling of the fangirl scene, keeping a popular blog and writing fan fiction. Finn’s online life is a secret, even from Charlie. The pair spark an unlikely online friendship that deepens quickly (so quickly it scares them both), and as their individual “real” lives begin to fall apart, they increasingly seek shelter online, and with each other.

Once Was a Time, by Leila Sales:

once-was-a-timeIn the war-ravaged England of 1940, Charlotte Bromley is sure of only one thing: Kitty McLaughlin is her best friend in the whole world. But when Charlotte’s scientist father makes an astonishing discovery that the Germans will covet for themselves, Charlotte is faced with an impossible choice between danger and safety. Should she remain with her friend or journey to another time and place? Her split-second decision has huge consequences, and when she finds herself alone in the world, unsure of Kitty’s fate, she knows that somehow, some way, she must find her way back to her friend. Written in the spirit of classic time-travel tales, this book is an imaginative and heartfelt tribute to the unbreakable ties of friendship.

With Malice, by Eileen Cook:

with-maliceFor fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive, compulsive read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend–only what if the accident wasn’t an accident?

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be. She comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident while on a school trip in Italy three days previous but was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident…wasn’t an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.

Thank you Chronicle Books and HMH Kids! Those books will be out next spring. I’m really looking forward to reading them!

I also picked up a copy of Yes, My Accent is Real: and Some Other Things I Haven’t Told You, by Kunal Nayyar, and bought the e-book of After You (Me Before You #2) by Jojo Moyes.

I finished reading one book last week: an ARC of Take the Fall, by Emily Hainsworth. I enjoyed it, but the book isn’t out until February 2016, so my review won’t be out until closer to release date. I just couldn’t wait to read that one!!

Currently, I’m still reading Sharon Cameron’s Rook, and I’ve just started to read Yes, My Accent is Real: and Some Other Things I Haven’t Told You.

I know I said last week that I’d have my reviews of Black Widow: Forever Red, by Margaret Stohl, and Slade House by David Mitchell posted then, but then I got lazy and didn’t have anything posted last week. But those reviews really will be published this week coming up! I’ve typed them up and scheduled them, so they’re coming! I enjoyed both books, FYI.

I’m going to spend the day relaxing, maybe do some shopping, and of course watch tonight’s episode of The Walking Dead! Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This