Good As Gone

By Amy Gentry

Source: Purchased

Series: n/a

Publication Date: July 26, 2016

Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

My Rating: three-half-stars

Good As Gone

Cover image and synopsis from Goodreads:

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic—but Anna, Julie’s mother, has whispers of doubts.  She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.

Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages.

I’ve really been on a mystery kick lately! This is a book I started one night when I felt like getting into another good mystery, and I finished the next day.

Like many of the books I’ve read lately, I thought this was good but not great. I liked the way the story jumped between Anna and Julie’s stories, and the way it kept me unsure about what the truth was, but I didn’t find it particularly mysterious or surprising in the end.

Recommended, but I might need to step back from mysteries for a while so that the next time I pick one up, it feels fresh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.