I Am Princess X

By Cherie Priest

Source: Received from the publisher

Series: n/a

Received from the publisher, for free, for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Publication Date: May 26, 2015

Published by Arthur A. Levine Books

My Rating: four-stars

I Am Princess X

Cover image and summary from Goodreads:

Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen; illustrated throughout with comics.

Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.

Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.

Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window.

Princess X?

When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There’s an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby’s story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon—her best friend, Libby, who lives.

I hadn’t heard of this book before I received an ARC at the Ottawa blogger meet up. But one look at the cover and that awesome premise and I KNEW that I had to read this one. It looked and sounded too good to resist!

I loved this book. I would love to have a finished copy for my bookshelf, because the ARC didn’t have all of the comic panels that the finished copy has apparently. And while it’s not a full on graphic novel, it does incorporate the panels of the Princess X comic into the book, which I thought was awesome. I loved the art.

I loved that this story was a pretty tantalizing mystery, and that it came down to the friendship between May and Libby. I love stories that focus on friendship. There were definitely moments where I had to suspend my disbelief but that’s all very easily overlooked (for me) because I loved the story and the characters, and especially loved that May and Libby’s friendship is the basis for everything. I keep saying it – I LOVE STORIES ABOUT FRIENDSHIP and would love to read more of them!

Another plus for me was that this book was romance-free. Sorry if you’re hoping for some kissing scenes and stuff, but I was so happy that there wasn’t a romantic subplot distracting from the mystery.

Was this book perfect? No. And judging from some Goodreads reviews I’ve seen, it’s not for everyone. But I loved it, and when I thought for half a day that I’d lost it when I was so close to finishing it, I was in a total panic. I Am Princess X was such a pleasant surprise. I loved it and totally recommend it!

One Response to I Am Princess X

  1. Tania says:

    A book without a pesky romantic subplot sounds great! This is my next summer read!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.