Just One Reader's Opinion!

The Hollow Inside

The Hollow InsideThe Hollow Inside

By Brooke Lauren Davis

Source Received from the publisher

Published by Bloomsbury YA
on May 25, 2021

Received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.



four-stars

Phoenix and mom Nina have spent years on the road, using their charm and wits to swindle and steal to get by. Now they’ve made it to their ultimate destination, Mom’s hometown of Jasper Hollow. The plan: bring down Ellis Bowman, the man who ruined Nina’s life.

After Phoenix gets caught spying, she spins a convincing story that inadvertently gives her full access to the Bowman family. As she digs deeper into their secrets, she finds herself entrenched in the tale of a death and a disappearance that doesn’t entirely line up with what Mom has told her. Who, if anyone, is telling the whole truth?

This was such an interesting, intriguing story, and I liked it a lot. In a way, it gave me dark Gilmore Girls vibes, like if Lorelei and Rory had been con artists. And to me, the mother-daughter relationship between Phoenix and Nina was the most interesting part of the whole story. There was a darkness to their relationship, and it kept me feeling uncertain about who could be trusted and how things would all turn out in the end.

The story pulled me in right away, and once Phoenix got entrenched with the Bowmans, it became apparent to me that nothing was quite as she had been led to believe. I loved reading as Phoenix struggled with ideas of family and loyalty, and the quick pacing kept me reading, not wanting to put it down.

Recommended, I think particularly for fans of Kara Thomas and Courtney Summers (it gave me the same sort of feeling I get when I read their books).

four-stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Follow Me!

  • Subscribe to the blog!

    Enter your e-mail address:

    Powered by FeedPress

    Recent Posts

  • 2021 Reading Challenge

    2021 Reading Challenge

    2021 Reading Challenge
    Kimmy has
    read 91 books toward
    her goal of
    100 books.
    hide

  • Categories