Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

this-savage-songToday my pick is This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab, out July 5, 2016 from Greenwillow Books.

From Goodreads:

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

I love that cover!!!

Victoria Schwab also writes as V.E. Schwab, and I love every single one of her books that I’ve read (Vicious, A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows, The Archived). This sounds like it will be just as amazing as those, and I’m super excited to have an e-galley of this on my e-reader already! Dark urban fantasy, music, boarding school, monsters – I can’t wait!

What are you waiting on this week?

One Response to Waiting on Wednesday

  1. Leydy says:

    I can’t wait to read this one! Great pick!

    Check out our WOW

    Leydy @ OUAT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This