Just One Reader's Opinion!

Night Film

Night FilmNight Film By Marisha Pessl

Source Purchased

Published by Random House on August 20, 2013

Rating: four-half-stars

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.

On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.

For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.

Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.

The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.

Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.

I wanted to read this book as soon as I heard about it! While on vacation in September, I passed a bookstore and couldn’t resist picking this up (despite the steep cost of the hardcover, eep!). Despite its size (roughly 600 pages!), I was sucked into this book and finished it in just a few days.

You’ve probably heard about this book already. I had certainly heard about it well before it came out, and was reminded of Mark Z. Danielewski’s House of Leaves. And like House of Leaves, I flew through this book despite its length.

From the moment I started reading, I couldn’t put this book down. I was immediately drawn into Scott’s investigation into Ashley and her death, which leads him back to her father, reclusive horror film director Stanislas Cordova. I loved reading about Cordova’s twisted, terrifying films, and on more than one occasion found myself wanting to watch these fictional movies.

I loved the atmosphere – it was spooky, the story was twisty, and I never knew which characters I (or Scott) could trust. He ended up with two people helping him with the investigation, Hopper and Nora, who have their own reasons for helping him out. Together, the three of them formed a strange team, but one that I liked to read about. There was an interesting dynamic. Hopper and Nora were a bit mysterious themselves, and I enjoyed learning more about them as the book went on. None of the characters were perfect, but I thought they were likable and I quite enjoyed tagging along on their journey to unravel the mystery of Ashley Cordova’s death.

I must say, though, for all the book/Cordova’s talk of horror and fear, the book didn’t quite ‘go there’ as much as I wanted. I was hoping for more horror, the kind that Cordova’s films were supposed to hold, and while there was a lot of suspense and tension in this book, it was more of a psychological thriller than horror story. There were some truly great, frightening moments, such as View Spoiler »

Initially, I loved that Scott was skeptical throughout the novel, even as evidence seemed to be mounting that there were some very dark things taking place at The Peak, and that once he got there and saw things for himself, all of the dark rumours about Cordova might be true. The whole ‘what is real, what isn’t real’ thing, the possibility that he might himself be in a Cordova movie, was terrifically twisted stuff. By the end, View Spoiler »

Once I finished, I had to admit to myself that the ending was a bit of a letdown. However, I find that I’m usually disappointed when reading mysteries of any kind, because I feel that the ending never really lives up to the excitement and possibilities created by the mystery, tension and suspense throughout the story.

That said, I really enjoyed this book as I read it. It had me on the edge of my seat, and was such a fun, aborbing read. It’s also a book that I’d like to read again, which doesn’t happen often. I definitely recommend this one. It’s one of my favourite reads of 2013!

four-half-stars

One Response

  1. This one is a bit long but your review has my really intrigued which is usually all I need to decide to pick up a book. The Psy Thrillers are my favorite reads. I am currently reading To Sleep…Perchance to Die, Don Grippo is the author his site has the book info, dongrippo.com. It’s fast paced, this one would have me downshifting as it;s so long. But looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Follow Me!

  • Subscribe to the blog!

    Enter your e-mail address:

    Powered by FeedPress

    Recent Posts

    The Word Is Murder

    I wound up enjoying this book so much that I immediately bought the rest of the books in the series and read them all one right after the other!

    Read More »
  • 2024 Reading Challenge

    2024 Reading Challenge

    2024 Reading Challenge
    Kimmy has
    read 0 books toward
    her goal of
    125 books.
    hide

  • Categories

  • Verified by MonsterInsights